Jerry Jones is an idiot

My very first memory of the Dallas Cowboys had to have been in 1962 or 1963.  It had to have been one of those years because Eddie Le Baron was still playing quarterback.   Since that time, when I was 6 or 7 years old, I have followed the Boys without fail.   My heart broke when they  lost to the Packers two years in a row in the championship, including the Ice Bowl.   I really despaired when Jim O’Brien  kicked the field goal for the Colts that beat the Silver and Blue in the Super Bowl.     I was as happy as anyone when they won their five Super Bowls, and still rooted for them when they went 1-15 in Jimmy Johnson’s first year.

High or low, good or bad, champions or not, I have always supported the Cowboys with little or no complaint for 50 years.   Even when Jones fired Tom Landry in the shameful way that he did, I followed the party line that it was all in the best interests of the team.   When the Cowboys of the 90’s were arrested , or involved in drugs, or found with hookers, I nonetheless continued to give them my support.

Quite frankly, when the “general manager” of the Cowboys made mistake after mistake in personnel and coaching decisions, I still held out a faint hope that it would all work out in the end.

That time is over.   Jerry Jones is an idiot.   Making Kiffin as assistant head coach for defense instead of firing him?  Really?   After leading one of the worst defenses in team history, if not NFL history, you PROMOTE the guy?   After forcing Bill Callahan on Garrett as the play caller last year, you bring in one more person to call plays, but leave Callahan as the offensive coordinator, even though Callahan wanted to leave to go to Cleveland?  Even the most loyal fan has his/her limits.  Mine has been reached.

I hereby place all my friends and family on notice.  Please do not give me anymore Dallas Cowboy memorabilia, clothing, books, etc.     I will not spend one more dime on the Cowboys, nor do I want anyone that I know to do so either.  Jerry Jones will not benefit financially from me or my family until he fires that moron that is his general manager.  I am not holding my breath.  Jones’ ego is so bloated that he will never admit making a mistake.

Will my boycott make a difference?  I doubt it.  There are plenty of “sheeple” that will follow Jerry to the very end as he drives this once proud franchise straight into the ground.

Fifty years is a long time to follow a team.  I cannot and will not change my allegiance to any other team.  It’s just not in my DNA.   There are plenty of band wagon jumpers that do that from year to year anyway.   As much as Jones makes my skin crawl, I still want the Cowboys to beat the Redskins, Eagles, Giants, 49ers, Steelers and Packers.  It is what I have always wanted, it is what I will always want.

I am not resigning as a Dallas Cowboy fan.   I just refuse to line Jones’ pockets while he turns the Cowboys into the Oakland Raiders.   If Jones had a sudden epiphany and actually hired a football savvy guy to run the team, I would be the first to jump right back in.    In the meantime, I hope my Cowboy regalia is high quality, because it is going to have to last a long time.   I don’t imagine Jones finding a brain any time soon.

One thought on “Jerry Jones is an idiot

Leave a Reply

