I have a photographic memory – but I am out of film.

The Skippers name in Gilligan’s Island is Jonas Grumby (his character’s name).  The four Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles are Raphael, Michaelangelo, Leonardo and Donatello.  My phone number from the time I was in fifth grade till I moved out of my parents house was 915-778-2252.  I can tell you the first words my former law associate Richard Contreras ever said to me when I met him in fifth grade.

But where the heck are the keys to my truck?   What was it I told my wife Molly I would do before I came and picked her up from work?  Did I really leave my folder full of papers on top of my truck before driving off today?     My mind can recall amazing details about trivial stuff (I dare you to play Trivial Pursuit), but I no longer remember simple things that I should.   Thank goodness my wife is here or I would probably forget to feed the dogs.  .

They say that there are three things that go with old age.  The first is memory, and I can’t remember what the other two were.  Thank goodness for smart phones (which I still occasionally forget at home).   When I had one of the first PDA’s, a new generation Palm Pilot, it sat on my desk at home 5 or 6 days out of 7 because I would forget to bring it with me.  Molly bought Ginkgo Biloba to help with memory, and you guessed it –  I would forget to take it.

Now there are many of you that know me that say I have always been a bit absent-minded – and I concede the point.    But forgetting the names of people I have known for years?    Having that word sit on the tip of your tongue just taunting you and not being able to spit it out?     I often compose a text and forget to hit the send button.

One of the biggest fears I have in life is dementia or Alzheimer’s.    I have seen people just disappear with those horrible diseases.   Because I keep “forgetting” things, I finally brought it to the attention of my family physician.  You know what that arrogant “Doogie Howser” looking doctor called what I had?   Age Accumulation.   He says that it is a natural progression of aging and that I should not worry about it.  Gee, I wonder if he makes me pay up front because I might “forget” to pay before I leave?

All kidding aside, my doctor and others I have talked to says that the adage “use it or lose it” is very appropriate in this instance.  So I make an effort to resist just vegetating in front of the TV and I read a lot, still try to do the occasional crossword puzzle, and study presidential history (still a nerd).   My hopes and prayers are that it will be enough to ward off my worries.

(I am adding this paragraph 10 days after I wrote the above.  When no one had commented on this article I was a bit surprised.   Well surprise, surprise, surprise.    This genius forgot to hit the publish button.)

3 thoughts on “I have a photographic memory – but I am out of film.

  1. Erica

    Please don’t forget to feed the dogs… well, maybe mine since he is becoming fat.

    I forget words all the time. Not sure if I would ever consider it age accumulation though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

